The Memphis Farmers’ Market and Me

First of all, I’d like to thank the 160+ that took the time to read and the many shares of “Where’s The Apology” since I published it last Saturday. I’m humbled that my rant connected with so many of you. If you’ve not had the chance to look at it, I would appreciate you reading it, sharing it and letting Drake and J Cole know that using the word autistic in such a derogatory way is akin to hate speech and not acceptable.

All that to say, the post I originally wanted to post last Saturday didn’t quite get the attention – I don’t think – it deserved. It’s about the Memphis Farmers Market and that facility truly merits your time and attention, even if my post doesn’t do it justice.

mfm logoI have found a new addiction. It’s a place I’ve been to twice and plan to go to no less than once a month – at least until they close in October. It’s the Memphis Farmers Market located at Central Station, S. Front Street at GE Patterson in the Historic South Main District, Downtown Memphis.

Farmers mkt 6The Memphis Farmers Market is a wonderful place to find loads of really great, locally grown, food and flowers and locally made artisan products. They have just about everything from tomatoes and green beans, to metal art, goat milk soaps and mushroom teas. On my most recent excursion, I came home with some wonderful cherry tomatoes, seriously good granola, goat cheese, pesto and even more. I even found multiple species of fig trees, one of which I may come home with my next time there.

Farmers mkt 1

The atmosphere is wonderful! Everything is so laid back, even though it’s crowded. People are shopping the stalls, or eating at one of the food trucks or even just sitting on one of the benches listening to live music and just people watching. All the vendors I have talked to have been very friendly and informative, especially on items they sell I would have no idea how to use.

But that it part of the point for the Memphis Farmers Market. Their mission is to:

  • Improve public health nutrition options by providing a vehicle to educate the community on nutrition and good health
  • Provide access to local food choices
  • Assist area farmers, producers, and artisans with sustainable business opportunities
  • Generate a sense of local pride while furthering the economic development of our community
  • Serve as a community-gathering place

And part of that is not only providing space for vendors to sell their wares; but, they also have cooking demonstrations on how to use the food sold there, Farm to Fork Dinner Tours, and Harvesting Good Health events.

Farmers mkt 2

Like I said I went there a couple of weeks ago and took my mom and Danger Boy. He had been with us before mom had not. But it was nice to let them both just explore and discover something new. Mom was super and bought me a bar of goat’s milk soap from Hearts of Eden and some chevre` from Bonnie Blue Farms. I got some vegan pesto from Harvest Fresh Farms and those together on some sourdough I had at home made for a wonderful lunch. Danger Boy couldn’t keep his hands out of the cherry tomatoes I bought from Mai’s Homegrown Produce. I still have some Bok Choy I need to use; but, I have some tofu marinating for that. (Scratch that, I did a stir fry with that this week, it was my very own Genghis Grill.)

Farmers mkt 3

Today,  L’Ecole Culinaire is having a cooking demonstration, Dogs 2nd Chance is going to be there with dogs available for adoption near the pet sitting area and three different local artists will be playing. And who knows, if you go by the right booth, you might meet a local news celebrity serving coffee. He served me mine and was super nice! 

That was last week, TODAY master gardeners will be answering question from 7:30-11:30. I may have to ask them about getting some reaised beds started in my back yard. WellWorx is sponsoring a “Cardio Boom” class led by Eric Cook, Street Dog Foundation is holding the pet adoptions, and there will be music from Rob Halford (not this one), Shelley Brown and Yancy and the Good’uns. But if you still stop by the right booth, you might meet a very nice local news celebrity!

Farmers mkt 5I really enjoy farmers’ markets and plan to find more. I’ve been to the one in Hernando, MS and where I live has one in the court house square Friday afternoons. More on them soon as I re-familiarize myself with them.

What’s the best thing you’ve picked up at a farmers’ market? I’d like to know so I can find new things to try.

Leave a Reply

